Happy days

As fireworks exploded in light shows of colour and noise, people set their New Year’s resolutions.

Some made drunken resolutions, soon forgotten and never implemented; others were conscientious for days or weeks but as calendar pages turned they slipped away.

This year I didn’t make resolutions, but I did make some commitments to myself as the weeks progressed.

One of these was to commit to the #100happydays project. For those of you who haven’t heard about it, it’s a personal challenge for people to post one photo a day of something they’re happy about. It’s a challenge to strip back our busy schedules and our inclination to whine about the bad things that happen.

One of my happy days posts: Mahjong Lessons

One of my happy days posts: Mahjong Lessons

So, for the past 38 days I’ve lived up to the challenge. Some days it’s been tough, other days blissfully easy. When you think about it, that’s the way it should be. There are days where it seems that everything went against you or you did only the mundane. Conversely, there are days that are just wonderful days where you do exciting things, spend time with people you love and when the stars all seem to be shining on you.

While I’m not sure I’ll able to live up to the pressure of finding a post for each day of the rest of my life, the challenge of photographing a happy thing each day has made me more mindful, more appreciative and more aware of what is that actually puts a smile on my face or a happier beat in my heart.

For more on the project or to set your own challenge, visit 100happydays.com

Leave a Reply

